Prize spotlights exemplary non-fiction work


The 2012 winner of the Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction will be announced Monday at a luncheon  in Toronto.

This year’s finalists are Wade Davis (Into the Silence: The Great War, Mallory, and the Conquest of Everest), Charlotte Gill (Eating Dirt: Deep Forests, Big Timber, and Life with the Tree-Planting Tribe), J.J. Lee (The Measure of a Man: The Story of a Father, a Son, and a Suit), Madeline Sonik (Afflictions & Departures: Essays) and Andrew Westoll (The Chimps of Fauna Sanctuary: A Canadian Story of Resilience and Recovery).

The national book award was established in 2000 to commemorate the life and work of the late Charles Taylor, one of Canada’s foremost essayists. It is awarded annually to the author whose book best combines s command of the English language, an elegance of style, and subtlety of thought and perception.

The prize consists of $25,000 for the winner and $2,000 for each of the runners-up, as well as promotional support for all short-listed books. The winner will also be invited to read at the International Festival of Authors in October at Toronto’s Harbourfront Centre.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s